Coconut aminos is a dark-colored sauce that tastes similar to soy sauce. Instead of being made from soy, however, coconut aminos comes from the sap of the coconut plant — not coconuts. After extraction, the sap gets stored and ages. During this time, it ferments due to the natural sugars present within it. The final result tastes savory and not at all like coconut.
People often choose coconut aminos over soy sauce for health-related reasons. However, many health claims come from folklore, not scientific research. Still, coconut aminos are soy-free and gluten-free, so they work well for people with allergies to soy or wheat.